According to a press release from the United Nations, reported in New Zealand’s “Scoop” World, the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women, a 30 year old organization, is currently meeting at the United Nations in New York to ensure that certain governments which become a party to the “Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women” eliminate discrimination against women. One of the many areas of inquiry is employment discrimination.

Once a country becomes a party to the Convention, of which there are now 187 countries, the Committee investigates each such country and questions its government representatives “about how they are ensuring that women are able to fully exercise their rights under each of the 16 substantive articles of the 30-article Convention.”  

These eight countries will face such scrutiny:


10 July: Guyana
11 July: Indonesia
12 July: Bulgaria
13 July: Jamaica
17 July: Mexico
18 July: New Zealand
19 July: Samoa
20 July: Bahamas


After the review, “the experts will adopt concluding observations, making recommendations to each government about what more it should do to eliminate discrimination against women.”


The provisional agenda, and reports about each country is cited at: :

full list of Committee members is available at: